2011 Shane Named Coach of the Year

PROVO -- BYU women’s track and field head coach Patrick Shane has been named the Mountain West Conference Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year for 2011.

Shane is in his first season as the head coach of the track and field team after 30 seasons at the helm of the women’s cross country team. Shane previously coached the distance runners on the track team under the direction of former head coach Craig Poole.

The award was announced shortly following the MWC Indoor Track and Field Championships on February 26. BYU won the MWC Indoor championship for the third consecutive season behind individual wins from Lacey Bleazard (800m), Katie Palmer (mile), Rachel Fisher (pole vault), Ada Robinson (high jump) and Morgan Haws (5000m).

The women’s track and field season continues this week as several BYU athletes will head to a Last Chance Invitational on Saturday to try and qualify for the National Championships on March 11-12.

Taylor Wilson | BYU Athletic Communications | Posted Feb 28, 2011 | Updated Mar 9, 2011 11:00 AM
Real Time Web Analytics